Why should you visit the Capuchin Crypt?

Under the Capuchin Church of the Finding of the Holy Cross, there is a tomb which served in the years 1656–1784 to bury the Capuchin brothers and the benefactors of the Order.

The sophisticated ventilation system, thanks to which the crypt had been ventilated for centuries, caused the natural mummification of the bodies of the deceased. Over 150 Capuchins and around 50 benefactors had found their place of the rest here.

The Capuchin brothers were buried in a very simple way: in their religious clothing and directly on the bare ground; the benefactors were buried in wooden coffins decorated with a manual oil painting.

The crypt is an unusual evidence of the history of the Capuchin Order. However, the tomb itself – as a place open to the public – has a rich history. Visitors have been coming here for more than 140 years.

Until these days, a simple form of the Capuchins´ burials attracts our attention. Another fascinating story is the one of a famous commander František Baron Trenck who at the end of his stormy and unbounded life became penitent and wished to be buried on the bare ground like the Capuchins.

The underground of the church also tells us the story about the friendship between the community of brothers and people who helped them and who wished to follow them to the last resting place. Also, they might have learnt the "Art of Good Death", inspired by the paintings presented in the exhibition of unique Baroque frescoes Ars Moriendi.